[Skip to Content]




DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS: Friday, January 10, 2020

If you have any questions, email lumenawards@iesnyc.org

Please review the Eligibilty, Submission Requirements and General Rules
found on the above navigation band before you submit

About the Lumen Awards

The Lumen Awards were established in 1968 by the New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNYC) and developed to publicly recognize excellence, professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design with the following distinct award categories:

Lumen Award of Excellence
Highest level of achievement for a permanent architectural application

Lumen Award of Merit
Meritorious achievement for permanent architectural application

Lumen Citation
Special recognition for a permanent or temporary lighting installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, or other work

On June 11, 2020, the IESNYC will announce the winning projects at the annual Lumen Gala held at Chelsea Piers in New York City. Design teams are invited to attend the Lumen Gala and will receive an award statue and certificate. In addition to being featured in the Lumen Journal distributed at the Lumen Gala, the winning projects will be showcased on the IESNYC website and publicized via traditional and social media.

The Lumen Awards program is not associated with the IES Illumination Awards. If you are interested in submitting your project to the IES Illumination Awards, visit ies.org/ia