[Skip to Content]


2024 IESNYC Lumen Awards Submission Portal Closed

The Lumen Awards were established in 1968 by the New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNYC) and developed to publicly recognize excellence, professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design.

The Lumen Awards are open to any interior or exterior architectural lighting design project completed within two years’ time of the extended submission deadline of January 19, 2024. Projects may be re-submitted during the years a project is eligible.

Anyone can enter a project for consideration, but wherever possible, we require the lighting designer responsible for the lighting scheme be credited.

Eligible projects must be designed by a New York City based designer(s) for a project located anywhere in the world. — OR —The project must be located in New York City regardless of the location of the designer(s). 

Jury deliberation and notification of winners will take place February 2024.

If you have any questions, email lumenawards@iesnyc.org

IESNYC Lumen Awards Categories

Lumen Award of Excellence
Highest level of achievement for a permanent architectural application

Lumen Award of Merit
Meritorious achievement for permanent architectural application

Lumen Citation
Special recognition for a permanent or temporary lighting installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, or other work

Save the Date
The Lumen Gala is scheduled to be held June 20, 2024 at Pier 60, Chelsea Piers in New York City.

The Lumen Awards program is not associated with the IES Illumination Awards. If you are interested in submitting your project to the IES Illumination Awards, visit ia.ies.org